Program/Provider Licenses & Renewals
Human Services Program Licensing
How to Become a Licensed Human Services Program or ProviderIf you are interested in licensing a treatment or other human services program, please follow these steps. You can find a description of the different license types and links to their associated rules here.
Download the application here opens in a new tab and mail it with the appropriate fee (below) to this address:
Utah Office of Licensing
Department of Health & Human Services
195 N 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Payment must be submitted in the form of a money order, cashier’s check or company check (no personal checks accepted) made payable to the Utah Department of Health & Human Services.
Fees for initial licenses are as follows:
- Adult Day Care, Adoption Agencies, Day Treatment, Intermediate Secure Care, Outpatient Treatment, Residential Support, Residential Treatment, Social Detoxification, Therapeutic School – $900
- Child Placing Foster Agencies – $250
- Outdoor Youth Programs – $1,408
- Recovery Residences – $1,295
Your application will be processed by an intake licensor. The intake licensor will assist you in gathering and submitting the necessary paperwork for licensure, including:
- A policy and procedure manual outlining how you will comply with General Provisions (Utah Code R501-1) opens in a new tab and your license category rules
- Copy of your business license
- Verification of fire inspection
- Verification of health inspection, if required by your local jurisdiction
- Verification of insurance (general/professional liability, fire, vehicle)
- An organization chart of your agency indicating lines of authority, position titles, job descriptions, etc.
- A list of members of your governing body, including owners and board of directors indicating name, address, and term of membership (may be part of your policy and procedure manual)
- Your quality assurance plan (may be part of your policy and procedure manual)
- Your emergency plan (may be part of your policy and procedure manual)
Additional paperwork may be required depending on the category of license you are applying for (e.g. floor plans, school accreditation certificate, proof of notification to your local government jurisdiction, etc.) Paperwork can be submitted to the intake licensor by email at the time of your application (preferred) or you can send in a hard copy with your application and fee.
Background screenings should be done in the Direct Access Clearance System (DACS) for all staff who will have direct or incidental contact with clients or their records. Brand-new programs will be given access to DACS after submitting a license application.
Adult-only substance abuse programs may request an exemption from this for general staff if other types of treatment (such as mental health treatment) are not provided by submitting this form opens in a new tab. Owners and directors who will have direct access to clients and their records must still submit a screening application.
Once all paperwork has been submitted, your application will be assigned to a licensor who will review your policies and procedures, do a safety inspection of your location and address any outstanding concerns.
The licensor will issue your license when all criteria have been met.
To help you prepare for this process, you can find an appropriate checklist here.
DSPD Residential Support or Day Support programs with 3 or fewer clients require a certification rather than a license.
Follow these steps to obtain a certification:
Download the appropriate certification application:
- Certified Residential Support application (serving 3 or fewer clients) opens in a new tab
- Certified Day Support application (serving 3 or fewer clients, either site-based or in the community) opens in a new tab
And submit it one of the following ways:
- By email to email@example.com
- By fax to 801-538-4669
- By mail to Office of Licensing, 195 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Your application will be forwarded to the Licensing Supervisor over your area and assigned to a licensor. The licensor will do a safety inspection and issue your certification.
To help you prepare for this, you can find the certification inspection checklist here opens in a new tab.
Renewing Your License
To renew your program’s license, please complete the following instructions:
- Approximately two months before your license expires, you will receive an auto-generated reminder from the Office of Licensing (OL). Fill out and submit a renewal application opens in a new tabwith the proper renewal fee. OL should receive this paperwork no later than 30 days before your license expires.
- You will also need to email your licensor the following documents 30 days prior to your license expiration:
- Updated business license
- Fire inspection
- Health Inspection (if applicable)
- Organization chart
- Verification of insurance coverage
- Policy & procedure manual (if there have been any changes over the past year)
- Youth Education Coordinating Form (if applicable) opens in a new tab
- Your licensor may request additional paperwork depending on the category of license
- Contact your licensor no later than 30 days before expiration to schedule a time for a program review and safety inspection. Then, review the licensor checklist to ensure that you have addressed all areas that the licensor will review
- Your licensor will renew your license when all paperwork has been submitted and all criteria have been met
- Relocation of a currently-licensed program requires a new renewal application and fee 30 days prior to the move, even if your current license has not expired. Relocating a currently-licensed program without notifying the Office of Licensing will void your license, requiring a new initial application and fee
- Changing capacity of a currently-licensed program requires a new renewal application and fee even if your current license has not expired
- Adding a new license category to a currently-licensed location (for example, adding Outpatient Treatment to your current Day Treatment program) requires an initial application and fee for the new license category
- Adding a new location (rather than relocating) requires an initial application and fee
- A name change of your program does not require a new application or fee but your licensor should be notified at least 10 days prior to the change
- An ownership change of your program should be communicated to the Office of Licensing as soon as possible prior to the change. A substantial change to your program as defined in General Provisions opens in a new tab will require a new initial application